Project Management Institute (PMI)® Continuous Certification Requirements (CCR) Update
February 25, 2015

PMI has announced changes to the CCR system, that will impact many PMI credential holders.


1.What are the updates to the CCR program?

Several aspects of the CCR program will change due to this update. They are as follows:

  • Change to minimum requirements for Education PDUs (to 60% overall)
  • Transition from self-directed to directed learning, in three skill areas, (Technical Project Management, Leadership, Business and Strategic Management), identified by employers as critical skills
  • Create minimum PDUs in each of the three employer identified skill areas, outlined in the PMI Talent Triangle
  • Change the maximum PDU requirement for activities focused on giving back to the profession
  • Improve the current online CCR system, so that it is easier to use


2.Why are these updates being made to the CCR program?

Extensive market research and feedback from certification holders and organizations identified skill areas employers need now and in the future, from project practitioners, to deliver better results. These skills are represented in the PMI Talent Triangle. The CCR updates align professional development activities, specifically Education activities, with the PMI Talent Triangle. The major objectives of this project:

  • Elevate the global recognition and value of PMI certifications
  • Enhance the value of project management within the workplace
  • Strengthen the CCR program around professional development by introducing the PMI Talent Triangle skill areas to the Education portion of the CCR
  • Create consistency with promoting professional development
  • Improve the online CCR system used for recording educational courses and PDUs


3.How are the three skill areas of the PMI Talent Triangle™ defined?

The PMI Talent Triangle outlines the three skill areas employers need. They are as follows:

  • Technical Project Management: Knowledge, skills and behaviors related to specific practice domains.
  • Leadership: Knowledge, skills and behaviors specific to leadership-oriented skills that help an organization achieve its business goals.
  • Business and Strategic Management: Knowledge of and expertise in the industry or organization that enhances performance and better delivers business outcomes.


4.How will the CCR program updates impact certification holders?

The CCR program updates increases the minimum number of Education PDUs for each certification holder. It also directs the Education activities by aligning them with the three skill areas of the PMI Talent Triangle. Education PDUs are as follows:

Skill Areas PMP, PgMP, PfMP, PMI-PBA certification holders PMI-ACP, PMI-RMP, PMI-SP certification holders
Technical Project Management 8 4
Leadership 8 4
Business and Strategic Management 8 4
Any of the three skill areas 11 6
Total Minimum Education PDUs 35 18



  • PMP means Project Management Professional (PMP)®
  • PgMP means Program Management Professional (PgMP)®
  • PfMP means Portfolio Management Professional (PfMP)®
  • PMI-PBA means PMI Professional in Business Analysis (PMI-PBA)®
  • PMI-ACP means PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP)®
  • PMI-RMP means PMI Risk Management Professional (PMI-RMP)®
  • PMI-SP means PMI Scheduling Professional (PMI-SP)®


5.What are examples of courses that align to each of the skill areas of the PMI Talent Triangle?

  • Technical Project Management: Examples are: Advanced project management, Techniques to improve your WBS, How to gather and document requirements, Risk management for your portfolio.
  • Leadership: Examples are: negotiation, communication, motivation, problem solving, and conflict resolution, etc.
  • Business and Strategic Management: Examples are: product knowledge, industry knowledge, business acumen, innovation strategy alignment, market strategy alignment, differentiation strategy alignment, customer strategy alignment, finance, marketing, etc.


6.When will the CCR program updates go into effect for credential holders?

Updates to the CCR program and the online CCR system will go into effect in December 2015.


7.For which activities will certification holders be able to earn and claim PDUs?

Certification holders will be able to earn and claim PDUs for all of the activities they could in the past including: taking courses, attending educational activities and events, reading or participating in self-directed learning activities like reading a book, creating new project management knowledge, volunteering, working as a project practitioner.


We, as a PMI Global REP, are able to assist you, with this transition. For further information, please do not hesitate to contact us, at


T: +61 2 9747 0783


PMI, PMP, PgMP, PfMP, PMI-ACP, PMI-PBA, PMI-RMP and PMI-SP are registered trademarks of the Project Management Institute, Inc.